Official launch of the African Sovereign Debt Justice Network

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
By:

January 21, 2021

Afronomicslaw.org invites you to the official launch of the African Sovereign Debt Justice Network

Register to attend by clicking on this link: Zoom Registration

Date: January 26th, 2021

Time: Kenya-5pm, Nigeria-3pm, South Africa-4pm, UK-2PM, Washington DC-9am, Chicago-8am, 

Halifax-10am

This meeting will mark the launch of the African Sovereign Debt Justice Network, (AfSDJN) and its activities for 2021. The AfSDJN is a coalition of citizens, scholars, civil society actors and church groups committed to exposing the adverse impact of unsustainable levels of African sovereign debt on the lives of ordinary citizens.

Convened by Afronomicslaw.org with the support of Open Society for Southern Africa, (OSISA), the AfSDJN’s activities are tailored around addressing the threats that sovereign debt poses for economic development, social cohesion and human rights in Africa. It advocates for debt cancellation, rescheduling and restructuring as well as increasing the accountability and responsibility of lenders and African governments about how sovereign debt is procured, spent and repaid.

Focusing in particular on Kenya, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Nigeria and Senegal, the AfSDJN will also amplify African voices and decolonize narratives on African sovereign debt . Its activities include producing research outputs to enhance the network’s advocacy interventions. It also seeks to create awareness on and elevate the priority given to sovereign debt and other economic justice issues on the African continent and beyond throughout 2021.

AfSDJN Official Launch