African Society of International Law 9th Annual Conference: Africa and COVID-19

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
Subcategory:
By:

October 20, 2020

African Society of International Law 9th Annual Conference
Register here: Zoom Registration
Oct 30, 2020; 08:00 AM, Eastern Time (US and Canada)

The AfSIL invites you to join their 9th annual conference which will be held virtually on 30th October, 2020. The line-up of the speakers and program for the day are below.

Opening Ceremony

3.00 pm Nairobi | 2.00 pm Paris | 8.00 am Washington D.C.

Makane Moïse Mbengue, Professor, University of Geneva, Sciences Po 

Keynote Speech & Conversation: COVID-19, Solidarity, and International Law
 
3.15 pm Nairobi | 2.15 pm Paris | 8.15 am Washington D.C.
Dire Tladi, Member, International Law Commission & Institut de Droit International 
Namira Negm, Legal Counsel, African Union Commission
Tafadzwa Pasipanodya, Partner, Foley Hoag LLP (Chair)
 
Break
4.15 pm Nairobi | 3.15 pm Paris | 9.15 am Washington D.C.

Beyond COVID-19: International Law and Africa’s Economic Recovery
 
4.30 pm Nairobi | 3.30 pm Paris | 9.30 am Washington D.C.
Djacoba Tehindrazanarivelo, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Madagascar
Falou Samb, Special Advisor to the President on Trade & Investments, Republic of Senegal
Stephen Karigi, Director of Regional Integration and Trade, United Nations Economic Commission for Africa
Chantal Ononaiwu, Trade Policy and Legal Specialist, CARICOM
Amne Suedi, Founder and Partner, Shikana Law Group
Olabisi D. Akinkugbe, Assistant Professor, Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University
Isabelle Rouche, Partner, Asafo & Co (Chair)

Closing Ceremony

6.00 pm Nairobi | 5.00 pm Paris | 11.00 am Washington D.C.

AfSIL Founding Board: Prof. Makane Moïse Mbengue, Judge Raymond Ranjeva, Prof. Maurice Kamto, and Prof. Yenkong Ngangjoh Hodu.