Afronomicslaw Academic Forum Guest Lecture Series: The (Mis)Production of African International Economic Law

Printer Friendly, PDF & Email
Subcategory:
By:
Academic Forum

January 20, 2022

The Afronomicslaw.org Academic Forum invites you to join their next guest lecture series 

Topic: The (Mis)Production of African International Economic Law

Date: Saturday, January 29, 2022

Time: Nairobi: 5.00PM; Johannesburg: 4.00PM; Lagos: 3.00PM; London: 2.00PM; Halifax: 10.00AM; Washington DC: 9.00AM; Chicago: 8.00AM 

To register for this event on zoom, click here

Guest Speaker

James Gathii is a Professor of Law and the Wing-Tat Lee Chair in International Law at Loyola University Chicago School of Law since July 2012. He is a graduate of the University of Nairobi, Kenya, and Harvard Law School. He sits on the board of editors of the American Journal of International Law, the Journal of African Law and the Journal of International Trade Law and Policy, and on the Advisory Board of the International Journal of Constitutional Law, among others. He is Vice-President of the American Society of International Law. Prof Gathii is a founding editor of Afronomcislaw.org, the blog on International Economic Law Issues as they relate to Africa and the Global South, and the African Journal of International Economic Law. His research and teaching interests are in Public International Law, International Trade Law, Third World Approaches to International Law, (TWAIL), Comparative Constitutionalism and Human Rights as well as Business Law. He was the Grotius Lecturer at the 2020 Virtual Meeting of the American Society of International Law. Professor Gathii has sat as an arbitrator in international commercial arbitrations hosted by the Permanent Court of Arbitration. He sits on the China International Economic and Trade Arbitration Commission (CIETAC). He is an elected member of the International Academy of International Law. He has consulted for the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, (OHCHR), and the Economic Commission for Africa, (ECA), among others. His books include African Regional Trade Agreements as Legal Regimes (Cambridge University Press, 2011, Paperback 2013); War, Commerce and International Law (Oxford University Press, 2010); and The Contested Empowerment of Kenya’s Judiciary, 2010-2015: A Historical Institutional Analysis, (Sheria Publishing House, 2016); and an edited collection, The Performance of Africa’s International Courts: Using Litigation for Political, Legal and Social Change, (Oxford University Press, 2020). He is currently writing three books. One on Third World Approaches to International Law another on Race and International Law and a third on Company Law Reform in Kenya. In addition to his books, Professor Gathii has authored over 100 articles and book chapters.

Discussant

Brenda Kombo is a sociocultural anthropologist and human rights lawyer with broad interests in legal anthropology, human rights, and international law. She was recently a Norbert Elias Fellow at the University of Bielefeld’s Center for Interdisciplinary Research (Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Forschung) and previously held postdoctoral fellowships at the Free State Centre for Human Rights at the University of the Free State and New York University’s Center for the Study of Africa and the African Diaspora. These fellowships followed several years of work with non-governmental organizations in the human rights field, primarily at the African continental level, including at the Raoul Wallenberg Institute of Human Rights and Humanitarian Law, New York City Bar Association’s Cyrus R. Vance Center for International Justice, and Equality Now. She also held research fellowships at the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa’s African Centre for Gender and Social Development as well as the Institut d’Études Politiques de Paris (Sciences Po) through the Yale Fox International Fellow Program. Brenda holds a PhD and MPhil in Anthropology from Yale University, a JD from Northeastern University School of Law, and a BA from Hampshire College.

For further enquiries, contact afronomicslawacademicforum@gmail.com.